Setting up admin roles

In this article

This article outlines how to configure your administrator team using Envoy’s admin roles. To get started with admin roles, your directory will need to be configured. To learn more about the Envoy directory, please read our About the directory article; to learn more about specific roles and their permissions, please read our About admin roles article.

You’ll add and delete admin roles manually, even if using a directory integration to sync your Envoy directory.

Assigning an admin role

  1. Go to Employee directory > Admin roles.
  2. Click “New admin.”
  3. Type the name of the employee you’d like to assign to a role. Remember, the person has to have an employee record before assigning them to an admin role.
  4. Select their location from the dropdown.
    • If this person needs Global or Billing permissions, select “All locations.”
  5. Select their role.
  6. Click “Invite.”
  7. To assign permissions at multiple locations, repeat steps 4 through 6.

The employee you’ve assigned will receive an email from Envoy. This email will prompt them to accept their new admin role. Once they click “Accept” in the email, they’ll be granted new permissions on their dashboard.

Deleting an admin role

  1. Go to Employee directory > Admin roles.
  2. Locate the admin you’d like to remove, and click “Edit.”
  3. Click the Trash icon beside each role you’d like to remove.

If you need to remove all of their permissions, you’ll need to click the trash icon beside each role.

Changing an admin’s permissions

You can change an admin’s permissions by clicking “Edit” on their admin role card. You’ll change their permissions by location. Here are a few examples:

  • An employee is an Front Desk Admin at a certain location, and you need to increase their permissions to Location Admin.
    • Choose the new role from the dropdown and click “Update.”
  • An employee is a Location Admin at one location and you need to switch them to another location.
    • From the location dropdown, choose the new location. Choose the “Location Admin” role and click “Invite.” Then, delete the previous role.
  • An employee is a Location Admin at one location, and you need to increase their permissions to Global Admin.
    • From the location dropdown, choose the “All locations.” Choose the “Global Admin” role and click “Invite.” Optional to delete their previous roles.