Printer out of paper notifications

In this article

Printer out of paper notifications let your team know when a printer needs a fresh roll of badges. Learn the benefits of these notifications and how to customize them to work for your team.

How printer out of paper notifications work

Printer out of paper notifications automatically let your Location Admin(s) know when a badge printer has run out of paper.

When a printer uses its last badge, an email is sent to that location’s Admin letting them know which printer needs attention. Your Location Admin(s) will receive these notifications by default. However, you can select any administrator or employee in your company to receive these notifications. You can also turn these notifications off entirely.

Benefits of printer out of paper notifications

  • Know that a printer is out of paper before it’s an issue, not when a visitor is waiting for their badge.
  • Alert the people on your team who can resolve the issue quickly and effectively, rather than whoever happens to be nearby.
  • Notifications are automatic, so your team can act immediately to insert new badges and keep visitors moving through your lobby.

Default printer out of paper notification settings

Printer out of paper notifications are enabled by default, and the Location Admin is set as the notification contact.

Changing printer out of paper notification settings

You can disable printer out of paper notifications completely or change who receives these notifications.

How to change or add notification contacts

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Notifications.
  2. Locate Printer out of paper notifications and click “Edit.”
  3. Under Notification contacts, select the employees that should receive printer out of paper notifications.
    • Add an employee by typing their name.
    • Remove an employee by clicking the X beside their name.

How to disable printer out of paper notifications

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Notifications.
  2. Locate printer out of paper notifications and click “Edit.”
  3. Click “Disable.”