How to sign out visitors

In this article

Learn about the benefits of using sign-out and the different ways you can sign out visitors.

How sign-out works

While it is important to capture visitor information and their sign-in time, sign-out can also be an important component of visitor management.

When a visitor signs out, their visitor entry gets updated to include their sign-out time. There are several ways to sign out a visitor:

  • With self sign-out enabled, visitors can sign themseves out using the iPad.
  • With automatic sign-out enabled, visitors will be automatically signed out at midnight of the day their entry was created.
  • You can also manually sign out visitors either from the dashboard or your Passport mobile app.

Benefits of signing out visitors

  • Sign out times appear on your dashboard and in visitor data exports, so it’s easy to capture for audit and compliance purposes.
  • Capturing sign-out times helps you create an accurate picture of who’s in the building, which can help in the event of emergency or evacuation. Learn more about using your visitor log in an evacuation.

Self sign-out

As an Envoy administrator, you can enable self sign-out for your location. This feature allows visitors to sign themselves out using the iPad.

When you do, the words Sign out will appear at the bottom of your iPad’s welcome screen. When visitors tap Sign out, they’ll be prompted to type their name. A record of their entry will appear, and they’ll simply tap it to sign out.

Visitors have until midnight to sign themselves out for the day. After midnight, you’ll need to manually sign the visitor out from the dashboard.

Enabling self sign-out

Available for Global and Location Admin only

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Sign-out.
  2. Locate Self sign-out
    • To enable, toggle to the “on” position.
    • To disable, toggle to the “off” position.

Automatic sign-out

As an Envoy administrator, you can enable automatic sign-out for your location. With this feature enabled, every visitor who has not signed out by 11:59 pm (local time) will be automatically signed out.

Automatically signing out visitors can help keep your visitor log “clean” for compliance and security purposes. It will ensure that every visitor entry has both a sign-in and sign-out time.

Enabling automatic sign-out

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Sign-out.
  2. Locate Self sign-out
    • To enable, toggle to the “on” position.
    • To disable, toggle to the “off” position.

Signing out visitors: dashboard

Available for Global and Location Admin only

Whether or not you have self sign-out enabled, you can always sign out visitors from the web dashboard.

How to sign out a visitor using visitor log

There are multiple ways to sign out visitors manually.

  1. Go to Visitors > Visitor log.
  2. If your visitor log shows the sign out time column, you can simply click Sign out.
  3. If not, sign out a single visitor by clicking the elipsis (…), then click Sign out.
  4. To sign out multiple visitors at once, select the check boxes to the left of their names; then, click the Sign out button that appears.

Signing out visitors: Passport

Anyone with the Envoy Passport app can sign out their own visitors. Envoy administrators can sign use Passport to sign out any visitors at their location(s).

Passport for iPhone

  1. Open Envoy Passport on your phone.
  2. Go to the Visitors tab at the bottom and the Visitors tab at the top
  3. Locate the visitor you’d like to sign out, and tap on their entry.
  4. Tap “Sign out.”
  5. Tap the “Sign out” button.

Passport for Android

  1. Open Envoy Passport on your phone.
  2. Go to the Visitors tab at the bottom and the Visitors tab at the top.
  3. Locate the visitor you’d like to sign out, and tap on their entry.
  4. Tap the overflow icon.
  5. Tap “Sign out.”

Editing sign-out times

Available for Global, Location and Front Desk Admin only

If you need to edit the sign out time for any reason, you can. Envoy administrators can edit sign-in and sign-out times for any visitors, and employees can do so for their visitors.

How to edit sign-out times

  1. Go to Visitors > Visitor log and locate the entry you’d like to edit.
  2. Double click on the visitor entry to open it.
  3. At the bottom of the visitor entry, locate the signed-in and signed-out fields.
  4. To edit the date, click the date field and choose a new date from the calendar.
  5. To edit the time, click the time field and either choose from the dropdown or type the desired time.