Blacklist

In this article

The blacklist feature allows you to flag questionable sign-ins based on keywords. You’ll enter custom keywords to create your blacklist, and if a visitor’s information matches, specified contact(s) will be notified. Your blacklist contacts can review the visitor’s details and allow or deny access.

How blacklist works

All visitors will sign in with the normal sign-in flow. If a visitor’s information matches a blacklist keyword, this iPad screen will prompt them to wait for assistance. 

Meanwhile, your blacklist contact(s) will be notified that a visitor matched the blacklist. 

When they receive a blacklist notification, the blacklist contact(s) must log into their dashboard to approve or deny access. 

  • If access is approved, the badge will print and the visitor’s host will be notified.
  • If access is denied, the badge will not print and the host will not be notified. We also recommend that your blacklist contact initiate security procedures to ensure the visitor does not enter.

Anyone who is not a blacklist contact will see a pending message for any visitor who has not yet been allowed or denied. 

Setting up blacklist

Step 1: Enable blacklist

  1. Go to Visitors > Settings > Notifications.
  2. Find Blacklist notifications and click “Enable.”

Step 2: Add blacklist keywords

  1. Enter a blacklist keyword.
    • This can be a name, email address, phone number, word or phrase.
  2. Enter the reason you’re adding this keyword to the blacklist.
  3. Click “Save keyword.”
  4. Repeat steps 3 through 5 to add as many blacklist keywords as needed.

Step 3: Add blacklist contacts

  1. On the Visitors > Settings > Notifications page, under Blacklist notification, click “Choose a blacklist contact.” « Note: The blacklist contact must be a Global, Location or Front Desk Admin. Learn more about Envoy’s roles and permissions. »
  2. Start typing the administrator’s name, and select it when it appears.
  3. Click “Save contacts.”

Important notes:

  • The blacklist is company wide, so if you have multiple locations within Envoy, any blacklist keyword added at one location will apply to all locations.
  • By default, Global Admin(s) can approve or deny access to matching sign-ins at any location, and Location Admin(s) can approve or deny matching visitors at their location.
    • These admins will not receive blacklist notifications unless they’re added as a blacklist contact. »

Step 4: Using the dashboard with blacklist

You can display the blacklist status on the dashboard. Just hover over the blacklist status for more detail.

  • Access allowed: Either no keyword was matched, or blacklist was not enabled at time of sign-in
  • Access approved: A blacklist contact or Global/Location Admin manually approved the visitor’s entry
  • Access denied: A blacklist contact or Global/Location Admin manually denied the visitor’s entry

Hover over a visitor’s blacklist status to see more details.