About visitor photos

In this article

With Envoy Visitors, you can automatically capture a photo of every visitor. You can choose if you’d like to capture a new photo every time, or if you’d like to use photos on file for recurring visitors.

How visitor photos work

A visitor will tap the “Tap to sign in” button, and they’ll enter their sign-in details. When they reach the photo capture step, they’ll be prompted to step into the frame. The photo is captured using the iPad’s front-facing camera, and they even have a chance to retake the photo to ensure they’re happy with the result. When the visitor completes sign in, their photo becomes part of their visitor entry.

Photos are displayed on your dashboard, in host notifications, and optionally on their printed badge.

Benefits of visitor photos

  • In case of a security incident, you can cross check photos on your dashboard with security footage.
  • Having on-the-go access to each visitor’s photo can help your team identify signed-in guests in the case of emergency or evacuation.
  • Seeing the photo in a host notification helps you know who to greet when there are multiple visitors in the lobby.
  • If you have multiple visitor types, you can configure photo settings based on purpose of visit.

‘Use existing photos’ feature

As an Envoy administrator, you’ll choose the photo settings for your location. When you have photos enabled, you have two options: either capture a new photo for every visitor, or you can use existing photos for recurring visitors.

When ‘Use existing photos’ is enabled, Envoy will check to see if there is a photo on file for every visitor. If they already have a photo on file, the visitor is not prompted to take a new photo. This speeds up sign-in (by about five to ten seconds) and saves the visitor from what can be the most awkward part of the sign-in process.