About the visitor sign-in kiosk

In this article

Learn how the basics of how the Visitors kiosk works with your location.

How the visitor sign-in kiosk works

The Visitors kiosk is the iPad your guests will interact with when they arrive at your location.

There’s no need to configure any settings directly on the iPad. All settings are configured in your dashboard. When you pair an iPad with a specific location, it automatically loads all of your preferred account configurations. Pairing is the term we use for connecting an iPad with a location. Pairing is also done on your dashboard.

Once the iPad is paired to your location, you’re ready to start signing in visitors. Visitors that sign in on that iPad create entries for that location (i.e., they will appear on the location’s dashboard and in visitor logs).

If you need to unpair an iPad from a location, that’s easy to do too. Once you unpair it, you’re free to pair it to another location or use as you wish.

Using multiple iPads

You can pair multiple iPads to one location. With multiple iPads at one location, multiple visitors can sign in at the same time, and their entries are created for the same location simultaneously.

Many of our busiest customers have two or three iPads on their front desk all paired to one location—and some have up eight or more!

Online versus offline

If you’d like visitor entries to automatically appear on your visitor log, your iPad will need to be connected to Wi-Fi.

However, the Visitor kiosk will also operate in offline mode. This means that if your Wi-Fi connection temporarily drops, visitors can still sign-in, but their entries will be stored temporarily on the iPad. When the iPad reconnects to Wi-Fi, the entries will be uploaded to your dashboard.

Because iPads are paired through your dashboard, you can monitor their status on the dashboard, too. The Visitors > Devices page lets you see the status of all paired iPads. Seeing device status in the dashboard is helpful because you do not have to be with the iPad to know if it has gone offline or requires an update—especially handy for remote IT teams!